Reviews

Below you will find many, glowing reviews of our tutors. All reviews are also available on our Facebook page, where most reviews have been posted. We hope this gives you good understanding of the ethos of our business and how we operate. Please note, due to our business vastly expanding in recent times, we may not have a review yet for the tutor we match you with. Please check back regularly for our newest reviews.

Smart Choice Tutors
5.0
Based on 12 reviews
powered by Facebook
Celine Griot
Celine Griot
2021-09-03T18:18:33+0000
I realized how truly special Emily is when my oldest son (who faints at the sight of homework) asked me to book a... session with her ahead of the school year to boost his confidence in maths. Emily is patient, kind and clearly has a passion for teaching.read more
Benjamin CM Lee
Benjamin CM Lee
2021-08-03T08:23:56+0000
We have circa 6 sessions with Steph and already our son who didn’t enjoy learning came to us and said learning was fun... with Steph and that he was taught things ahead of the class, making him feel good about himself.We are currently working with Steph on areas that require development based on school reports, and her own assessment, building a potential of him solving problems and explaining things.read more
Laura Ladd
Laura Ladd
2021-07-28T17:37:01+0000
My daughter started having weekly Tutoring with Helen 5 weeks ago & I cannot praise Helen enough. We are so lucky to... have found such a patient, kind lady who is getting my daughters confidence back with school work. I have noticed a difference already. Thank you again.read more
Bryany Dillon
Bryany Dillon
2021-07-28T15:02:06+0000
My daughter started her sessions this week and safe to say she’s been loving them, Helen’s definitely made a lasting... impression on her, would 100% recommend to anyone. Thank you Helen xread more
Abi Blank
Abi Blank
2021-07-16T17:32:28+0000
Over the last few weeks, my son has received tutoring from Jerry for maths as he has missed so much in year 5&6 during... lockdown. I thought it was a good idea to get him a bit up to speed before starting secondary. He has really enjoyed the lessons and said he feels more confident, Jerry is really great, patient and brilliant at instilling confidence. Highly recommend him and Smart Choice Tutorsread more
Helen Joseph
Helen Joseph
2021-07-14T16:41:17+0000
Over the last month my daughter started to receive tutoring sessions for English with Smart Choice Tutors and we have... been so impressed with the way things are going. As a child with special needs and high anxiety school is challenging and any new adult relationship equally so. Sam and Emily took their time to understand her needs and carefully selected James who in their opinion was the best fit. I had the opportunity of a phone conversation with James up front to share some background information and then from the first session they hit the ground running, he started with activities to put her at ease and by the end of the first hour she was engaging with him fantastically online. This has continued every week since, her confidence is growing massively and she looks forward to the sessions, so much so that she was really happy to do more in the summer holidays!! Thank You to all the team involved.read more
Raimonda Kubiliūtė
Raimonda Kubiliūtė
2021-05-16T08:41:36+0000
Emily has been and continues to be an incredible support for our daughter. We started working together from the... beginning of Y2 & and she is now due to finish Y3 so the passed two years every Saturday morning was no less than a real pleasure and always a very welcome hour of education, learning and challenging yourself. Our daughter is a high achiever but since working with Emily she has taken her learning and ability to the next level further unlocking her skills, passion for great results and always being one step ahead.We will continue working with Emily until our daughter finishes Y6 as Emily is not only a wonderful and caring tutor, she also offers constant guidance & advice for parents too in order to make the right education choices moving forward. We could not recommend Emily enough & if you are looking for a caring, inspiring tutor that your child would love to work with, look no further.read more
Amy Greenwood
Amy Greenwood
2021-04-29T18:53:35+0000
My girls have just begun Spanish lessons with Ellie who is new to the Smart Choice Tutors team and they both thought... the sessions were fantastic. This is our first experience with the team and we have been very impressed with their level of professionalism and organisation. Thank you!read more
Kate Ramsay
Kate Ramsay
2021-04-12T08:45:04+0000
Emily and Shanie have been working with my daughters for a while now and they have both really enjoyed the sessions.... Neither were keen to have a tutor but the reality is that my daughters actually never complain when its time to have a session as the tutors make the sessions so fun! Both my daughters are actually quite able with maths but needed the confidence boost and to plug the gaps in their knowledge. We have been delighted with the progress that they've made.read more
Lisa Simmons
Lisa Simmons
2021-04-09T20:23:33+0000
Looking for the right tutor for my children was a challenge, until I found Smart Choice Tutoring. My son has some... learning difficulties and I was worried about how he would take to some extra classes as he can be quite reluctant at the thought of learning . Well I needn’t have worried, my son absolutely loves his lessons and really looks forward to them. The lessons are tailored to his interests and this makes him want to learn even more! It is an absolute joy to watch him in a lesson, Emily takes her teaching above and beyond, she is so kind and nurturing and just brings out the absolute best in him.I have also been lucky to have Shanie teach another of my children, she is also amazing at keeping him on track and is really able to get him to focus and have fun with the objectives of his lesson.Smart Choice Tutoring has really helped my children with their learning and we are forever great full for all the effort they put into my children. I am in no doubt that these lessons will make a massive difference in their future!read more
Ilke De Gouveia
Ilke De Gouveia
2021-04-06T09:20:40+0000
My son has been working with Emily for over a year now and he absolutely loves all the lessons with her. Emily focuses... on the whole child and goes above and beyond what I expect a normal tutor would do. She really makes learning fun and engages my son, even if he is tired or have had a long day, she somehow manages to get the best out of him. Emily is really pro-active and adjusts her lessons based on what my son has done in school that week, to reinforce his learning. She is really motivating, supportive and has such a gentle and fun nature, that she is such an asset to his learning. He has learning has improved exponentially since we have started working with Emily and his report cards shows that. We are so glad we found you Emily!read more
Caroline Garfoot
Caroline Garfoot
2021-04-05T07:59:42+0000
If you are looking for a tutor for your child, then please know you will not find better than Emily and the team at... Smart Tutoring. My son absolutely loved his sessions with Emily and the change in him was astonishing, he became so much more confident and self assured, and the best part was not only was he learning, he was having huge amounts of fun. Whilst we no longer have regular sessions with Emily (she was incredibly honest and advised that these were no longer needed) we do still have adhoc “check in” sessions to see how my son is progressing, which we massively appreciate.Emily truly is one of a kind, not only is she an amazing teacher, she is a genuinely beautiful individual, who has become a family friend as well as a tutor. Her advice, constant support and encouragement means so much to us and we cannot thank her and Sam enough.read more
Lisa Marie
Lisa Marie
2021-04-04T16:52:37+0000
Emily is the most dedicated, passionate and committed teacher I have ever met. She cares for the learning and wellbeing... of every child in her care. Children absolutely love her and so engage in her lessons and make fantastic progress.I am a fellow teacher and I have had the pleasure of working alongside Emily and she has also tutored children in my class and I have seen the impact she has. I don’t have children myself but if I did, I wouldn’t think twice about asking Emily to tutor them!read more
Brooke Sumner
Brooke Sumner
2020-10-16T12:58:38+0000
I am a fellow tutor and have purchased Emily's videos, wow!!!!!! I feel by watching her videos, I feel more confident... and have gained some great skills and knowledge of what to use and how the best way to use them, these will benefit me and my tutees a lot! Cannot recommend them enough, thank you so much for recording these, definitely value for money xread more
Charl Holmesy
Charl Holmesy
2020-10-15T18:10:09+0000
Emily is an outstanding, patient tutor who I’ve had the joy of working alongside. As a fellow tutor, Emily has really... supported me since I’ve moved my business online. She has not only given me fantastic CPD training but is on hand whenever I need her to answer my many questions surrounding Bitpaper. On top of all this, she is also lovely! I highly recommend her 🌟🌟🌟read more
Becky Aulsberry
Becky Aulsberry
2020-02-29T07:56:08+0000
I have worked alongside miss smart as a professional. She is not only an amazing teacher, but a gorgeous person. She... not only imparts knowledge, she nurtures and truly cares about every individual child who is lucky enough to be taught by her. If my child ever needed tutoring, I would have no second thoughts.read more
Anna Lippett
Anna Lippett
2020-02-11T22:56:25+0000
We had our first session with Emily yesterday and my 7 year old has never been so enthusiastic about maths! He's... demonstrated so much progress already, both in his knowledge and confidence. I just wish we'd found Emily sooner!read more
Deby Louise
Deby Louise
2019-12-15T00:13:07+0000
The care and dedication Emily displays towards each of her students goes above and beyond, from tailor made learning... plans, bringing fun into education for reluctant learners, to just being herself and providing that smile and knowing nod to the shy child in the class having a tough time. I've been lucky enough to see first hand the impact this amazing teacher has on each and every one of her pupils.I would not hesitate in recommending her.read more
Cameron McArdle
Cameron McArdle
2019-12-07T12:57:46+0000
Emily was my student teacher and I do not pass over my class lightly. That particular year had a fair few issues from... behaviour to emotional. She tackled each problem with confidence, grace and kindness. She attended parent evenings which was not necessary but she wanted to improve her skills of communication within the school community. She also volunteered to help our with the play which was once again not required. She was an amazing teacher to my students and after the time she spent I am now lucky to call her a friend AND collegue. I would recommend her to anyone as her dedication and kind nature speak for itself. She will always go above and beyond.read more
Anneka Higham-Hook
Anneka Higham-Hook
2019-12-06T20:11:05+0000
Emily is such a lovely, positive person. She really connects with even the shyest of children and builds a lovely... professional relationship with the children she works with and truly cares about each child. I completely recommend Smart Tutoring!!read more
Danny Smart
Danny Smart
2019-12-06T19:07:57+0000
Emily is an amazing and patient teacher. She works extremely hard to make sure children’s lessons are adapted... specifically to their needs. She works tirelessly and absolutely loves her job- and it is clear. She is extremely professional and brilliant to work with. I would highly recommend Smart Tutoring.read more
Joanne Brown
Joanne Brown
2019-10-23T16:28:12+0000
Emily is a such a calm and understanding teacher, helping all of her students develop a real love for learning.
Sarah Harris
Sarah Harris
2019-08-30T07:46:16+0000
Emily has been working with my son for a couple of months now. My son is autistic and has been finding it very... challenging in the classroom, which has increased his anxiety and eroded his confidence in learning. Emily has worked wonders with him over the past few months. He has grown in confidence with her excellent one-2-one support. He is engaged in learning again and will happily sit for the whole hour actively involved in the session. Emily has planned his sessions around his interests and is a thoughtful dedicated tutor. I feel that with Emily's support next term will be much better for him!! With Emily's help we will be able to support the classroom learning, to reduce the anxiety my son feels when he doesn't follow what is being taught in a group setting. I can't recommend Emily highly enough. My son is always excited when Emily arrives for their tutoring session and I think that speaks volumes for her skills as a teacher!!read more
Rachel Groves
Rachel Groves
2019-08-22T08:27:28+0000
A caring, thoughtful and professional teacher who is a credit to her profession!
Marina Morgan
Marina Morgan
2019-08-09T09:52:54+0000
When my son started his tutoring with Emily, he was below the academic expectations for his year. He was easily... distracted in class and therefore getting into trouble. He was lacking in confidence and would actively avoid any learning that he thought he couldn’t do. The progress he has made since Emily began tutoring him has been incredible. She intuitively understands how to engage him and he always looks forward to working with her. He maintains concentration throughout the lesson and is even sad when it ends because he is enjoying learning with Emily so much! The one-to-one has given my son space to work through what he would normally find challenging, and Emily has helped him see that he can tackle any challenge and succeed. As a result his confidence and self-esteem has grown immeasurably. He is less distracted at school because he is no longer avoiding difficult academic challenges. His teacher has noticed a huge improvement and by the end of the year he had met all expectations for his age and year across all subject, and received all A’s for effort in all subjects. I’m so proud of him and it really is all down to Emily’s talent as a teacher. I would highly recommend Emily to anyone who is looking for an outstanding, committed and compassionate teacher for their child. Marina Morgan-Gynn (Sunningdale)read more
Kelly Davidson
Kelly Davidson
2019-08-03T14:26:58+0000
I contacted Emily to support and help my son with his English for his SATS.Emily was consistent and had built a good... rapport with my son. My sons confidence increased and he ended doing very well in his SATs.I would definitely recommend Emily!read more
Emma Barley
Emma Barley
2019-07-22T20:42:04+0000
A wonderful teacher who is patient and kind with all children.
Sonja Simmonds
Sonja Simmonds
2019-04-17T14:08:03+0000
I booked with Emily in order to build my sons confidence in maths, for which I believe was the reason he said he... couldn't do it After just one session my six year old son wants Emily to come over every day to do maths. He is so excited to get to school now after the Easter holiday and this is so much more than I could have hoped for. Emily has such a pleasant manner and is quite simply, wonderful with children. We are so happy to have found you xread more
Next Reviews